Skip to content

Tech Tuesday: Facebook Changes Your Default Email Address to Facebook.com Email Address

Has anyone noticed that their default email address on your personal FB account has defaulted to <yourusername>@facebook.com ?  Facebook hid your primary email address making the facebook.com the only visible email address.  The changes were rolled out in the last day or two bringing together SMS messaging, instant messages and email under a single system.

Forbes summed up this change as “Facebook’s Lame Attempt To Force Its Email Service On You.”

I don’t know about you but I don’t want my personal email messages going to my Facebook message inbox.

By default, Facebook has set your @facebook.com address to be “shown on Timeline” and hides the rest. To change it, update your info on your personal facebook account and switch your @facebook.com email address to “hidden from Timeline,” and set your preferred email to be “shown on Timeline.”

What do you think about Facebook’s most recent change? Are you changing your primary email address back to the original email address? What are the pros and cons of using a Facebook email address?

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. I heard about this but for some reason didn’t think it had happened to me LOL… oh naive girl that I am. Thanks for sharing. I’ll make sure to let others know too.

    June 26, 2012
  2. Thanks Eva, I changed mine immediately!

    June 26, 2012
  3. Thank you for sharing.

    June 26, 2012
  4. Fixed already, but it does make you wonder why we keep putting up with Facebook.

    June 26, 2012
  5. Thanks for the tips!

    June 26, 2012
  6. so weird! but I don’t love my email on there .. would rather them email me on Fb less spam that way

    June 26, 2012
  7. Now another reason why I hate FB…meh! Thanks for sharing!

    June 26, 2012
  8. I just realized this yesterday. I don’t like a lot of the changes.

    June 26, 2012
  9. NOT a fan of all the changes. But in all honesty can we complain about what we don’t pay for? Eventually FB will neutralize themselves I bet. *Puts away my crystal ball* 😉

    June 26, 2012
  10. So you think you can mom? #

    I’m telling you…FB may have run it’s course. Whatever happened to “if it’s not broke, don’t fix it”?

    June 26, 2012
  11. shannoncolleary #

    Is Facebook the Evil Empire?

    June 26, 2012
  12. Donna #

    I’m with Catalina. I have really started to resent all the time I spend on Facebook. I’d give it up if it didn’t make it so easy to stay in contact with all my friends. 🙂

    June 26, 2012
  13. Frankly, my personal email is full enough as it is. I don’t mind having messages go to my FB message. (It’s less for me to go through in my personal email!) But I’m glad to know this is here in case I change my mind. Thank you! 🙂

    June 26, 2012
  14. Oh Facebook. How you vex me so. I love you and yet I don’t trust you. You are like a bad boyfriend. LOL Always have to keep your eyes open with this one!!

    June 26, 2012
  15. OMG! Thanks for this! I had no idea FB did this change until I read this post. FB email is so unreliable. I have received emails on the FB message system days after they’ve emailed me and it’s led to missed opportunities. I just switched it back. Thank you again!

    June 26, 2012
  16. Another change and reason to DISLIKE Facebook. Time to make some changes.

    June 26, 2012
  17. great info, thanks! Do not agree with FB!!! it should be optional

    June 26, 2012
  18. Thanks! I only wish something better than Facebook would come along. I am so tired of all these crazy things happening.

    June 26, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Welcome to the soon-to-be enormous world of Facebook email spam | ZDNet « Ye Olde Soapbox
  2. Facebook changes default emails to @facebook.com – Jun. 25, 2012 « Ye Olde Soapbox

Leave a Reply

