Skip to content

Setting SMART Goals for 2012

What is your favorite Goal attaining system?  I prefer setting goals using the S.M.A.R.T. system. If you don’t have a goal setting system, I recommend this system.  It’s a simple and effective way to set SMARTer goals.  It’s my go to system for setting goals. 

It will help you identify key goals, areas of improvement and also provides a worksheet to review periodically throughout the year.  It will enable you setup goals that are clear, attainable and with a timeline.

In summary, S.M.A.R.T. goals need to be:

S: Specific, Significant, Stretching & Simple

Goals need to be specific. To set a specific goal set a well defined goal. You should be able to clearly identify the goal and answer these questions: Who are the stakeholders? What will you accomplish? Where will you accomplish it? When will you accomplish it? and Why do you want to accomplish this goal? I also like to use the S for $. Will it cost anything or will it save money?

M: Measurable & Manageable

Goals need to be measureable. How will you measure your success? Can you manage the progress towards your objective? Create a support system from trusted friends, colleagues and others in your professional social network to encourage you and help you measure your success.

A: Attainable, Attitude, Appropriate, Achievable, Assignable & Ambitious

Goals need to be attainable. Can you accomplish the list this year? Is the goal achievable? Do you have the resources you need to attain the goal? Develop the right attitude to ensure you achieve your goals. Are you your best advocate? Be ambitious. Don’t settle for average results.

R: Relevant, Results, Results-focused, Results-oriented

Goals need to be relevant and results oriented. Is the goal relevant to your career, business or personal goals? Be honest in the evaluation of yourself.

T: Time-bound, Time framed, Time-Specific, Trackable

Goals need to have a time-frame. Is the goal time-bound? What is the time-frame to complete the goal? Make sure to consider the time it will take you to complete your goal by setting a time-frame and timeline to complete the goal. Be wise and give yourself enough time to complete the goal. Track your deliverables with project management tools. You can create a quick and easy goal tracking spreadsheet with Excel

Examples of SMART Goals:

Specific:  I want to Buy a New Computer or Go on Vacation
Measurable:  Costs $1,500.
Attainable: I will save $150 a month to buy the computer.
Results-Oriented:  By saving $150 a month I will save 1,500 in 10 months.
Time-Bound: By saving $150 a month I will save 1,500 in 10 months and then be able to by a computer or go on vacation by the end of the year.

Discussion: Please join me in setting up 2012 SMART goals. What type of tools do you use to set your annual goals? Do you set short-term goals or long term goals?

Additional resources:

8 Strategies for Achieving SMART Goals

Use SMART Objectives to Focus Goals, Plans and Performance

The Importance of Working Together With Your Team

21 Ways to Excel at Project Management

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love this! I think i will use the SMART system to execute a couple of my goals this year! I agree with them being measurable to see progress as well as attainable being realistic with goals sometimes can be hard because we want a change so fast.

    January 2, 2012
  2. Great read and love the way you broke it down!

    January 2, 2012
  3. This is a great system.

    Eva, Happy New Year! Please know that I am very grateful for the opportunities you have brought into my blogging life. Thank you very much!

    January 2, 2012
  4. This is amazing! I just had to share this because it’s one of the best posts I’ve seen on goal setting.

    January 2, 2012
  5. This is an awesome system. How have I not heard of this before?! Definitely will be using this for future goals. Thank you!

    January 2, 2012
  6. Eva, I love your system ! and Happy New Year… I wish you all the best !

    January 2, 2012
  7. Great stuff, but what about the Practical consideration? In the SMART approach, is that not relevant? Or could that fall under the “relevant” section? I’m just curious, b/c there are so many things I’d like to own and can obtain them by saving, etc… but they’re not really practical… Great tool!

    January 2, 2012
  8. Fantastic blog post, Eva! Yes, I agree with you that we all need to have a system, like the S.M.A.R.T. system, to help us achieve our goals. Happy New Year!

    January 2, 2012
  9. Great tips Eva! I’m actually working on a post about my first step towards my resolutions. Thanks for the tips! These are sure to help! 😉

    January 3, 2012
  10. I love using the SMART strategy. I used it a lot when we I had to do a self evaluation at work. It impressed the boss too. 😉

    January 3, 2012
  11. I’m working most on that M and T!! Thanks for the tips, Eva!

    Mercedes
    http://BeChicMag.com

    January 3, 2012
  12. Wow, this looks very professional! 😀 You should be my coach. My goals usually seem very abstract… I will start using your method.

    January 3, 2012
  13. This is great! I have been setting goals rather than resolutions for the past two years. I love the idea of intergrating the SMART system into my goals- great tips!

    January 4, 2012
  14. Eva! This is the best system… I love it. I started working through it last year and it’s one of the best things ever!

    January 14, 2012
  15. Goals are so important.. we work with cancer sufferers, people battling depression and people needing serious motivation and I can speak first hand at the value of goals.

    July 24, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Goodbye 2011 and Hello 2012! | Tech.Food.Life.
  2. Find Your WHY «
  3. Time for Success | onemindmanydetours
  4. Setting Your Network Marketing Business Goals For 2012 | Marketing Business Buzz

Leave a Reply

